Category: Fellowships/Awards/Scholarships


Susan Moenga receives USAID Fellowship!


Susan Moenga, a Plant Biology Grad Group student and member of Doug Cook’s lab, has just received a USAID graduate school fellowship that will cover the majority of her costs for 4 years. Michigan State, which runs the fellowship program, has granted Susan this fellowship. Congrats, Susan!

Jastro-Shields Awardees

Congrats to department members Stephen Joseph Bolus, Wenjie Qiao, Kellee Heather Britt, Li-Hung Chen, Robin Choudhury, Kelley Rose Paugh, Abbie Seidle, Sandra Mosquera, and Lorena Beatriz Parra for becoming the Jastro-Shields Awardees!

Teiken awarded $10,000 scholarship


Carrie Teiken, QBE lab grad student has been awarded a $10,000 Annie’s Sustainable Agriculture scholarship to support her work on the sustainability of new technologies for control of Huanglongbing (HLB) in Citrus.  Annie’s scholarship program assists graduate students pursuing studies in sustainable and organic agriculture.
Annie’s Sustainable Ag scholarship
Story sent to me by Dr. Neil McRoberts/Carrie Teiken

Alfred Chan receives STAR AWARD

Alfred Chan, Phoenix IT Manager, received one of  the Chancellor’s STAR Awards.  Alfred received a STAR Award (Staff   Appreciation and Recognition) in the Individual Award Nomination category.  Editor Dave Jones wrote in DATELINE on 2/17/2015: “Since 2006, in addition to his full-time position, Chan has voluntarily provided comprehensive and professional audiovisual support and service to the UC Academic Business Officers Group. Working at the direction of the systemwide conference steering committee, Chan has undertaken full and primary responsibility of the ABOG conference and has provided time and talent to what is, in and of itself, a full-time AV specialist position. Even during a six-month deployment to Afghanistan as a an Air Force Reserve captain, he served ABOG’s AV needs were met without interruption.”

Congratulations Alfred, we are very proud of you!

Photo was taken by Artem Trotsyuk (Social Media Coordinator, Office of the Chancellor) Chancellor Linda P.B. Katehi (left), Afred Chan (middle) and nominator Janet Brown-Simmons CAO of the Phoenix Cluster (right)


David Doll, former Plant Pathology Graduate, recipient of “Outstanding New Academic”

I am pleased to announce the 2013-14 recipients of the ANR Distinguished Service Awards, which are given biennially for outstanding contributions to the teaching, research and public service mission of the Division.

Awards were given in six areas:

  • Outstanding Extension – Eric Mussen, UC Cooperative Extension specialist in the Department of Entomology and Nematology at UC Davis for bees.
  • Outstanding Research – Mark Battany, UC Cooperative Extension advisor in San Luis Obispo and Santa Barbara countiesfor viticulture.
  • Outstanding New Academic – David Doll, UC Cooperative Extension advisor in Merced County for nut crops.
  • Outstanding Team – Ken Tate, UC Cooperative Extension specialist in the Department of Plant Sciences at UC Davis, and Rob Atwill, director of Veterinary Medicine Extension at UC Davis, are the recipients of the Outstanding Team Award. Since 1994, Tate and Atwill have collaborated on a series of projects assessing the potential risk to rangeland surface-water quality and human health from livestock associated pollutants.
  • Outstanding Leader – Pamela Geisel, former director of the statewide UC Master Gardener Program. Although Pam retired recently, since this nomination package was very strong, I believe it’s appropriate and important to give Pam this much-deserved award.
  • Outstanding Staff – Michael Yang, UCCE agricultural assistant in Fresno County for small farms.

Each of the recipients will receive $2,000 and a certificate, except for the team award recipients, who will receive individual certificates and share $5,000.

The DSA nominations were reviewed by the Academic Assembly Council Program Committee, which gave me its recommendations. The committee was chaired by Joe Grant and included Rachel Surls, Becky Westerdahl, Scott Oneto and Jennifer Heguy.

On behalf of ANR, I thank the DSA recipients for providing excellent service to the people of California. I hope you will join me in congratulating them on this well-deserved recognition.

Barbara Allen-DiazVice President

View or leave comments for ANR Leadership at

This announcement is also posted and archived on the ANR Update pages.

Congratulations to Chris Greer who was recently appointed ANR Vice Provost


Dr. Greer received his Ph.D. in plant pathology from our department in 1999 under the guidance of Professor Emeritus Robert Webster.   His dissertation research concerned rice blast disease.  Chris has served as UCCE area rice advisor with responsibilities in multiple counties and provided leadership in various programs and committees within ANR and elsewhere.  Additional details about his experience and new responsibilities can be found at .”

Problems? Contact Brian Mendonca. Copyright © UC Regents, Davis campus. All rights reserved. Last Major Site Update: 20 June 2014